Athena Magazine

Fashion, lifestyle, passions

Fashionista Must: The September Issue September 6, 2009

septissue_largeConde Nast once called me to interview for a fact-checker position at Vogue. I turned it down, declaring indignantly that I was an editor, not a lowly miserable factchecker for Vogue, a punching bag for staff editors. This, of course, was in the 1990s, long before The Devil Wears Prada and now The September Issue. Really, if I had played my cards right, I could have written Devil before that writer had finished fifth grade, and better, I like to think, hah!

I wouldn’t turn that job down now, if only to be inside the citadel doors; I imagined at the time that I had much bigger fish to fry than to get sidetracked into Vogue factcheckerdom. But since I was too foolish to leap at an opportunity to work at Vogue when Conde Nast called, I can just go see The September Issue, an almost frightening insider documentary based on the production of the September 2007 Vogue, the biggest ever.

Now playing in New York theaters and opening in Los Angeles and other select theaters around the country on September 11th. Learn more about The September Issue here …

 

Leave a Reply

