Athena Magazine

Fashion, lifestyle, passions

Bags Plus More: Made With Simplicity July 15, 2009

Submitted by Marjorie Cunningham, owner of Marjorie’s Cracked Plate Jewelry and manager of the Reclaimed to Fame Market.

Catherine Kaczanowski is the owner of Bags Plus More and is a member of the Reclaimed to Fame Market.  She designs fabulous tote bags, shoulder bags and plastic bag holders from recycled materials.

“My sewing bags, etc. all started a few years ago when my nephew’s school was having a fund raising bazaar. My sister-in-law (nephew’s mother) is an interior decorator and asked if I could sew up some items to sell. Well, the totes, etc. began! The bazaar was a success! This was two years ago. The school no longer has the bazaar, but I have continued sewing and selling at craft shows when I can and online. I also make donations to our local Physically Challenged Developmental Site, Cancer Centers and Nursing Homes.

“I use upcycled interior decorating fabric samples from my sister-in-law’s business. Instead of throwing these items to landfills, I reuse them to make useful handmade items. All items are double stitched with a zigzag finish. I keep it simple, durable, washable, and useful!”

 

Leave a Reply

