Athena Magazine

Fashion, lifestyle, passions

Gem Junkie June 1, 2009

jadeI love beads and have ever since I wandered into a Santa Fe bead store run by a woman named Gloria of unknowable age with a glorious head of laquered white hair and a bad attitude. While I have collected them through my life (my favorites are from Prague), I’ve never gone so far as to string them. I just like to look at them, run my fingers through glassy piles. Although lately, with my haute couture embellishments class, I’m learning how to apply beads to garments, a task I took to with unforeseen and surprising love and tenderness.

skullWell, I’ve landed on a wonderful etsy beading store, Gem Junkie, which has “gemstones and jewelry supplies for all your beading needs.” Just think, I don’t have to put up with Gloria’s bad attitude or trek to Czechoslovakia. And with the supplies available as well, I may even string a few together. Discover Gem Junkie here.


 

Leave a Reply

