Athena Magazine

Fashion, lifestyle, passions

Yeah! Easy Rice Pudding February 26, 2009

Filed under: Domestic Goddess,Food is Good — rebmas03 @ 2:57 am
Tags: , ,
Rice pudding for company

Rice pudding for company

By Julia Pantoga

 

 

Here’s something easy to do with leftover rice—it works with the rice leftover from your Chinese take-out order, or the rice you have left over from last night’s dinner. Rice pudding can be dressed up in cups with some fresh berries and nuts for guests or spooned right out of the casserole dish into a bowl for breakfast (which is what I do). It’s mostly eggs, rice and milk—doesn’t that sound breakfast-y?

 

 

 

 

Easy Rice Pudding

2 eggs
2 cups milk (I use whole milk)
½ teaspoon vanilla
½ cup sugar
½ teaspoon salt
2 cups cooked rice
½ cup raisins
ground nutmeg

1. Heat oven to 325°.

2. In an ungreased (music to my ears) 1.5 quart casserole dish, beat eggs.

3. Add next five ingredients in the order listed, beating lightly after each addition.

4. Add raisins. Don’t stir, they will sink.

5. Sprinkle nutmeg on top.

6. Bake for 60 min. or until a knife inserted in the middle comes out clean.

Ready for the oven

Ready for the oven

Rachel Ray Never Has These Problems.  I had a friend coming over for lunch in 1 hour and I was planning to serve rice pudding for dessert. Since I had yet to mix the ingredients, you can do the math and figure that I was already running late. I really love rice pudding, so all morning I was thinking about the rice pudding and looking forward to eating it. I followed steps 1-3 above (you’ll note that the rice is the last item on the list). Committed to rice pudding now, I took my leftover rice out of the fridge (which I remembered as only a few days old, but I obviously remembered wrong) and it was moldy. I had no choice but to throw it out and make a new pot of rice. My garbage can was full, so I had to take out the garbage before I could throw out the moldy rice. I’m sure that when Rachel Ray makes those 30-minute meals, she never pulls moldy rice out of her refrigerator, leading to more dishes to wash and trash to take out.  I love RR, but even she would have to admit that she and I live in completely different worlds.

Everyone makes rice differently. Here’s how I make 3 cups of rice: In your pot dump 1 cup of rice, 2 cups of water and 2 tablespoons of oil (Any oil will do. For main dishes I usually use olive oil; for desserts, I usually use sesame oil). Cover and bring to a boil. Turn down to a simmer and cook until the rice is done, about 30 minutes.

Making rice is easy

Making rice is easy

 

5 Responses to “Yeah! Easy Rice Pudding”

  1. Michael Tim Says:

    I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

  2. jo Says:

    hmmmm looks yummy,how about leftover bread can i use it instead of rice?any suggestion?tnx Godbless

  3. Julia Says:

    I’ll try it with bread when I return from my travels in mid-August. It sounds like it’ll work, but I’ll let you know for certain then.

  4. Marian Smith Says:

    Hey I just wanted to let you know, I actually like the written material on your site. But I’m using Chromium on a laptop with version 8.x of Crashbang Ubuntu installed, and the display of your site isn’t quite right. Not a serious problem, I can still read the articles and browse for data, but just wanted to inform you about that. The navigation bar is kind of difficult to use with the config. I’m running. Keep up the great work!

  5. Hello – Nice blog, just browsing around some pages, it seems to be a really awesome platform you are running here. I am just presently using WordPress to run some of my sites but planning to switch one of them over to a platform just like yours just for a tryout run. Anything in particular you would recommend about it?


Leave a Reply

