Athena Magazine

Fashion, lifestyle, passions

My Favorite Teen Bedroom January 17, 2009

butterflyI’ve been renovating a house since last May, a complete gut. All I can say is think twice before doing this yourself, even if you do have a contractor husband and a separate place to live. But in the process I’ve also been doing a lot of shopping for everything from fixtures to fabrics to furniture. Today my big love is this ’70s-inspired duvet cover from Pottery Barn (which for a while was getting a little blah, but seems to have found a new spark). It reminds me of my favorite teen boudoir, my best friend’s yellow and green modular bedroom. It was soooo cool. Her fabulously wealthy parents did the right thing and built a whole teen suite for her and her bro. And then they bought her a sexy sienna Firebird which we cruised to our high school every morning. And I lived gloriously vicariously through all of it. Check out the new mod Pottery Barn here.

FYI, I’ve added this new category: Athena at Home today. I think you’ll be hearing a lot from me on this topic, as it’s ALL I think about. 

Budget tip: Duvet covers are a super-cheap, quick way to change up a room. This full/queen is only  $119. I use only white sheets, and have several duvet covers for mood and season. If you have a fav fabric and even the most modest sewing skills, you can stitch up your own in an afteroon, with a sewing pattern as your guide.

 

Leave a Reply

