Athena Magazine

Fashion, lifestyle, passions

Holiday Prep: Super-Yummy, Fast-Fast Party Snacks December 12, 2008

By Julia Pantoga

finished-scarabs1These are so easy, that you’ll be hard pressed not to laugh when you tell others what you did. Last year we named them “Scarabs” because they resemble Scarab beetles. But the name that sticks is “those Rolo-pretzel things.” Essentially, this elegant looking snack is a pretzel with a Rolo candy melted over it, topped off with a pecan. As my friend’s mother said, “The hardest thing about them is unwrapping all those *!#@$ candies!” Here’s the step-by-step:
1.    Unwrap two bags of Rolo candies. I take care of this step in front of the TV, the night before I make these. At Halloween, they sell the candies wrapped in packages of three; if you pick up a few bags then, you’ll save yourself some unwrapping work.
2.    Preheat oven to 300°.
3.    Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
4.    Spread pretzels out on the cookie sheet (not too close to each other or the melted caramel from one will stick to the other).
5.    Top each pretzel with a Rolo candy.
6.    Bake for 10 minutes. When they are ready, the candy will be soft, but it won’t melt over the pretzel.
baked-scarabs7.    Press a pecan into each candied pretzel.
8.    Let cool before bagging up for the freezer.
baggies-of-scarabs

I keep baggies of 2 dozen in my freezer, for quick contributions to informal parties. I’ve also been known to take baggies of these with me on long car trips.  This is a fabulous treat!

 

5 Responses to “Holiday Prep: Super-Yummy, Fast-Fast Party Snacks”

  1. Vivian Says:

    If anyone has any doubts about how deliciouse these are, let me remove them right now. These are so easy to make that you would suppose they couldn’t be wonderful, but they are. I would take them to any affair and know that these will be the first to go!

  2. Emily Says:

    These look so good! We’re having a party food recipe contest and would love to have you enter – I’ve linked to the contest through my name. The deadline to submit recipes is today at 4 p.m. Pacific Time!

  3. Julia Says:

    I wish I had seen your note earlier, but I loved looking around on the MarxFoods website. More great party ideas.

  4. Marilyn Says:

    Julia,
    You are TOPS, Lady! I am printing your cool scarab recipe and I will make these and wow and amaze my family in Chattanooga! I love being your friend!

  5. Julia Says:

    I have a new name for them: SYSEPS — Super Yummy Super Easy Party Snacks.


Leave a Reply

