Athena Magazine

Fashion, lifestyle, passions

Yoga Union: Iyengar Yoga and Scoliosis May 31, 2009

deborahI’ve had scoliosis since I was 14 years old—an aggressive S-curve that was discovered when I showed my mother an odd convexity in my stomach area. First I wore a Milwaukee brace for 3 years:  I joined the swim team just to be able to discard the metal and leather armor gleefully for a couple of hours at a time. Eventually, I turned to chiropractic and lost the brace entirely, but swimming put me on a path of fitness to manage my curve: mostly dance, Pilates and yoga. It was the last that has yielded the most benefits, and in my early 40s I discovered Iyengar yoga and a wonderful teacher, Deborah Wolk, who focuses specifically on using yoga to manage scoliosis. The day that she ran her hand down my spine as I bent forward touching my toes, and she identified my curves without my ever mentioning it, was a day when I found what I had been searching for my whole life. Most people can’t notice my scoliosis, due the to evenness of the curves, but it was my secret shame. Since then my chiropractor has said that my curve always lessens when I’m practicing Iyengar. It’s just a gem that I want to pass on to others who may be on a similar quest. Namaste.  

LOGO2For more info:

YOGA UNION CENTER FOR BACKCARE & SCOLIOSIS
32 W 28TH STREET
4TH FLOOR
BETWEEN 6TH AVENUE AND BROADWAY
NEW YORK NY 10001
212-532-1512

www.yogaunionbackcare.com
yogaunion@nyc.rr.com

Located near Penn Station, N, R, W, D, B, F, V 6 AND 1 trains  

 

One Response to “Yoga Union: Iyengar Yoga and Scoliosis”

  1. Julia Says:

    Iyengar yoga is awesome!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.